Dear Visitor,

You have reached the archived version of NACCHO's website. As of February 1, 2016, the content on this site will no longer be updated and may contain outdated information. To see NACCHO's most recent and updated content, please visit our new site at

If you have additional questions, please contact us at

Print this page Print This Page

Email this page E-Mail This Page

Bookmark and Share

Certification Resources for Workforce Development

Workforce Resource Center

The below list includes certifications that public health practitioners may wish to pursue, either in the general public health realm or in specific sub-disciplines. Click here to view NACCHO's policy statement on Workforce Certification and Credentialing.

General Certifications
Certified in Public Health (CPH)
The CPH credential is a general public health certification through the National Board of Public Health Examiners (NBPHE). Click here to view NACCHO's policy statement on Certification in Public Health and Maintenance of Certification. More »
Certified Public Health Administrator (CPHA)
The CPHA certification is offered through the Public Health Practitioner Certification Board and is available in several states. The certification focuses on public health administration and practice. More »
Discipline-Specific Certifications
American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) Certifications
AACN provides various types of certifications for nurses. More »
American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) Certifications
ABMS provides various certifications for physicians. More »
Certified Emergency Response Coordinator (CERC)
The CERC certification is offered through the Public Health Practitioner Certification Board. CERC certification requires skills in public health emergency preparedness and response, epidemiology and infectious diseases, public health practice, and environmental health. More »
Certified Health Education Specialist (CHES)
The CHES certification is offered through the National Commission for Health Education Credentialing (NCHEC). More »
National Environmental Health Association (NEHA) Certifications
NEHA offers various credentials for public health practitioners who focus on environmental health. These certifications include Certified Environmental Health Technician (CEHT) and Registered Environmental Health Specialist/Registered Sanitarian (REHS/RS), among others. More »