Login Event Calendar Careers About NACCHO Contact Us Site Map

Dear Visitor,

You have reached the archived version of NACCHO's website. As of February 1, 2016, the content on this site will no longer be updated and may contain outdated information. To see NACCHO's most recent and updated content, please visit our new site at www.naccho.org.

If you have additional questions, please contact us at support@naccho.org.

Print this page Print This Page

Email this page E-Mail This Page

Bookmark and Share

NACCHO Announces the 2015-16 Officers and Board of Directors

NACCHO Announces the 2015-16 Officers and Board of Directors

Washington, DC (June 15, 2015) -

The National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO) is proud to announce the 2015-2016 election results for NACCHO Officers and Board of Directors. Swannie Jett, DrPH, MSc, Health Officer for the Florida Department of Health in Seminole County, will become NACCHO President. Claude-Alix Jacob, MPH, Chief Public Health Officer for the City of Cambridge, MA, will move into the role of President-Elect. Alina Alonso, MD, Director of the Florida Department of Health in Palm Beach County, West Palm Beach, FL, will become NACCHO's newly-elected Vice President. Georgia F. Heise, DrPH, Director of the Three Rivers District Health Department in Owenton, Kentucky, will serve as Immediate-Past President.

The complete list of NACCHO Board of Directors is below. They begin their official responsibilities on July 1, 2015.

As the governing body, the Board of Directors establishes NACCHO's strategic direction and initiatives, ensures that annual goals are met, sets the annual legislative agenda, and provides financial oversight. The Board is NACCHO's public face, and represents members in matters of policy, public health practice and collaboration with health partners in the public and private sectors.

Dr. Jett is Health Officer for 450,000 residents in Seminole County Florida, where he leads community initiatives to strengthen the Seminole County Health Department infrastructure by creating partnerships to improve population health outcomes, and improving workforce competence and funding streams. Dr. Jett is a Captain in the Air Force National Guard, and in 2011 completed the National Public Health Leadership Institute. He is passionate about addressing issues of environmental justice, global warming, health equity, and air pollution. After graduating from Tennessee State University with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Agricultural Statistics, as well as an MS in Bio-Systems Engineering from the University of Tennessee, Dr. Jett received a doctorate in public health from the University of Kentucky.

Mr. Jacob is the Chief Public Health Officer for approximately 100,000 residents for the City of Cambridge, MA. He oversees operations for the Cambridge Public Health Department of the Cambridge Health Alliance that include public health planning, regulatory activities, delivery of public health nursing, school health, community health, emergency preparedness, environmental health, and epidemiology services. He currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Public Health Foundation and the National Advisory Board of the Albert Schweitzer Fellowship. He is the past national chair of the Black Caucus of Health Workers of the American Public Health Association. Mr. Jacob also received training in the National Public Health Leadership Institute, as well as the W.K. Kellogg Fellowship for Emerging Leadership in the Public Health. He is passionate about workforce development, accreditation, quality improvement, and health equity. Mr. Jacob received a Master of Public Health from the University of Illinois at the Chicago School of Public Health.

Dr. Alonso serves a population of 1.4 million as the Director of Florida Department of Health in Palm Beach County. She is a family practice physician by training, and has been a preventive medicine/public health servant to the residents of Palm Beach County since 1989.As Director, she oversees the operations of one of the largest and nationally recognized county health departments. Dr. Alonso has trained in Bio-Chemical Terrorism and Weapons of Mass Destruction since 1997, and handled the clinical operations of the first case of inhalation anthrax that occurred in 2001 in the United States. She has extensive training in communicable and emergent diseases. Dr. Alonso graduated from Barry University in 1978 with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Biology, and a double Minor in Chemistry and Mathematics. She received her Medical Degree in 1984 from Universidad Autonoma de Ciudad Juarez in Mexico, where she gained tremendous clinical skills treating patients by discussing their medical history up front as an important component of diagnosis.

In addition to the Officers, at-large and newly-elected regional members of NACCHO's Board include:

·Claudia Blackburn, MPH, RN, Florida Department of Health Leon County, Tallahassee, FL

·Brian Bowden, National Association of Counties, Washington, DC (Ex Officio)

·Crystal Caudill Miller, MPH, Wedco District Health Department, Cynthiana, KY

·Sara Cody, MD, Santa Clara County Public Health Department, San Jose, CA

·Melody Counts, MD, Cumberland Plateau Health District, Lebanon, VA (PHS Region 3)

·Della Cox-Vieria, RN, MPH, Alamosa County Public Health Department, Alamosa, CO

·Muriel DeLavergne-Brown, RN, MPH, Crook County Health Department, Prineville, OR

·Pramod Dwivedi, DrPH, Linn County Public Health, Cedar Rapids, IA (PHS Region 7)

·Bob England, MD, MPH, Maricopa County Department of Health, Phoenix, AZ

·Winifred Holland, MPH, MA, LMHC, Florida Department of Health Clay County, Green Cove Springs, FL

·Melanie Hutton, RN, Cooper County Public Health Center, Boonville, MO

·Joseph Iser, MD, DrPH, MSc, Southern Nevada Health District, Las Vegas, NV (PHS Region 9)

·Jennifer Kertanis, MPH, Farmington Valley Health District, Canton, CT (PHS Region 1)

·Gretchen Musicant, RN, MPH, Minneapolis Health Department, Minneapolis, MN (PHS Region 5)

·William Paul, MD, MPH, FACP, Metro Public Health Department, Nashville, TN

·George Roberts, Jr., FACHE, Northeast Texas Public Health District, Tyler, TX (PHS Region 6)

·Umair Shah, MD, MPH, Harris County Public Health &Environmental Services, Houston, TX

·Scott Sjoquist, MS, Mohegan Tribal Health, Uncasville, CT (Tribal Health Department Representative)

·Lloyd Lee (Torney) Smith, MS, Spokane Regional Health District, Spokane, WA (PHS Region 10)

·Kevin Sumner, MPH, Middle-Brook Regional Health Commission, Green Brook, NJ (PHS Region 2)

·Crystal Swann, United States Conference of Mayors, Washington, DC (Ex Officio)