Login Event Calendar Careers About NACCHO Contact Us Site Map

Dear Visitor,

You have reached the archived version of NACCHO's website. As of February 1, 2016, the content on this site will no longer be updated and may contain outdated information. To see NACCHO's most recent and updated content, please visit our new site at www.naccho.org.

If you have additional questions, please contact us at support@naccho.org.

Print this page Print This Page

Email this page E-Mail This Page

Bookmark and Share

NACCHO Announces 2013-14 Vice President and Board of Directors

NACCHO Announces 2013-14 Vice President and Board of Directors

Washington, D.C. (June 14, 2013)—

The National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO) is proud to announce the 2013-2014 election results for NACCHO Vice President and Board of Directors. Swannie Jett, DrPH, MSc, Health Officer for Florida Department of Health in Seminole County is the newly-elected Vice President. Below is a full list of members of NACCHO's Board. This esteemed group of public health leaders will commence their official responsibilities on July 1, 2013.

Terry Allan, RS, MPH, Health Commissioner for Cuyahoga County Board of Health (CCBH) in Northeast Ohio will continue in his role as NACCHO President having assumed the duties in April 2013 after Former President John Weisman, DrPH, MPH, CPH, vacated the position to become Washington State Secretary of Health. Georgia F. Heise, DrPH, director of the Three Rivers District Health Department in Owenton, KY, will also continue in her duties as President Elect. Lillian M. Shirley, BSN, MPH, MPA, director of Multnomah County Health Department, in Portland, OR will continue to serve as Immediate-Past President.

Dr. Jett serves as Health Officer for 450,000 residents in Seminole County Florida, leading community initiatives to strengthen the Seminole County Health Department infrastructure by improving funding streams, workforce competencies, and creating partnerships to improve population health outcomes.Dr. Jett is a Captain in the Air Force National Guard and in 2011 completed the National Public Health Leadership Institute. Dr. Jett is passionate about addressing the issues environmental justice, global warming, health disparities, and air pollution. After graduating from Tennessee State University with a BS in Agricultural Statistics as well as a MS in Bio-Systems Engineering from the University of Tennessee, Jet received a Doctorate in Public Health from the University of Kentucky.

In addition to the officers, regional and newly-elected at-large members of NACCHO's Board include:

Alina M. Alonso, MD, Palm Beach County Health Department, West Palm Beach, FL

Claudia Blackburn, BSN, MPH, CPM, Sedgwick County Health Department, Wichita, KS

Paul Beddoe, National Association of Counties, Washington, DC (Ex Officio)

Crystal Caudill Miller, MPH, Wedco District Health Department, Lexington, KY

Karen DeSalvo, MD, MPH, MSc, New Orleans Health Department, New Orleans, LA

Bob England, MD, MPH, Maricopa County Department of Health, Phoenix, AZ

Barbara Ferrer, PhD, MPH, Med, Boston Public Health Commission, Boston, MA

Rahul Gupta, MD, Kanawha-Charleston Health Department, Charleston, WV (PHS Region 3)

Gibbie Harris, MSPH, BSN, RN, Buncombe County Health Department, Asheville, NC (PHS Region 4)

Melanie Hutton, RN, Cooper County Public Health Center, Boonville, MO

Winifred M. Holland, MPH, MA, LMHC, Bradford County Health Department, Starke, FL

Claude-Alix Jacob, MPH, Cambridge Public Health Department, Cambridge, MA (PHS Region 1)

Larry D. Jones, MPH, MA, City of Independence Health Department, Independence, MO (PHS Region 7)

Doug Mathis, MA, Henry County Health Department, New Castle, IN

Kevin M. Sherin, MD, MPH, MBA, Orange County Health Department, Orlando, FL

Crystal D. Swann, United States Conference of Mayors, Washington, DC (Ex Officio)

Lloyd Lee (Torney) Smith, MS, Spokane Regional Health District, Spokane, WA (PHS Region 10)

Kevin Sumner, MPH, Middle-Brook Regional Health Commission, Green Brook, NJ (PHS Region 2)

Mindy Waldron, REHS, CPSP, BS, Ft. Wayne-Allen County Health Department, Ft. Wayne, IN (PHS Region 5)

Richard L. Vogt, MD, Tri-County Health Department, Greenwood Village, CO (PHS Region 8)